Cambridge Buddhist Centre

Reviews of Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction Evening Course

5 Stars

12/07/2017 - Elizabeth

Supportive environment, combination of Ruchi and Sarah is a good one, and information is drip-fed (in a good way!) to participants, so it is not overwhelming. The poems read at the end of each session are meaningful and poignant. The Saturday is an eye-opener; many of us felt it would be a very long day/how could we stay silent for so long? The day flew, it was such an enjoyable one. The comments that others made in the group also contributed to the course: mentions of regrets, talk of really seeing the beauty in small things. Many thanks to you all!

3 Stars

10/07/2017 - Gill Waters

Ruchi was a great tutor and a mesmorising meditation voice. Super guy. Would have liked a little more theory and a bit less less going over / analysing and discussing honework and practices

5 Stars

08/04/2017 - Annie Hall

The course was excellent. Delivered so kindly and supportively - I can't quite explain how supportive a room full of near strangers can be in a situation like that. Ruchi and Sargraghosa were both super, making everything very clear and positive. I feel that it has begun to make some important changes in my life, with the acknowledgement that it's now down to me to maintain my practice! The sessions, recordings and workbook created a very good structure which gave me confidence in what I was doing. I would recommend the course to anyone.

5 Stars

06/04/2017 - Peter McKenna

Wonderful !

5 Stars

06/04/2017 - Peter McKenna

Wonderful !

5 Stars

06/04/2017 - Anonymous

It was very helpful and calming. I strongly recommend it.

4 Stars

03/04/2017 - Maggie Johnson

This course was very helpful. I enjoyed the sessions and felt very nurtured. I will miss my Wednesday afternoons.
It was necessary to invest quite a lot of time in the home practice but it was well worth it.

5 Stars

05/12/2016 - Hilary Glasscock

For the second time I have found the course very valuable

5 Stars

02/12/2016 - Ian Felce

I think this is an excellent course that does exactly what it intends to do: reduce stress. I think there are few places better to do it in the UK than at the Cambridge Buddhist Centre.

5 Stars

02/12/2016 - Liz

There is a definate requirement to be committed as the practices take up considerable time and need to be well planned to fit into a busy lifestyle. I feel that I have just began to recognise my problems and beginning to feel that the course has been extremely beneficial in this regard. I will most definitely continue mindfulness.

5 Stars

23/07/2016 - Ksenia

I took this course because I was stressed but didn't know why. Not only did the course help me recognise the roots of my stress, it also taught me valuable tools to use in order to deal with my stress. I found the group work enjoyable and beneficial to listen others' experiences and thoughts. It was helpful to recognise that we are not alone in our stresses. I would very much recommend this course.

5 Stars

16/07/2016 - AA

I have been recommending this course to all and sundry. It should be a requirement for anyone running for public office, and all corporate CEOs. We are all a work in progress, but this has really helped. Thank you!

5 Stars

14/07/2016 - Rebecca

I am pleased I did the course. I learnt many new things which I hope to continue practicing and developing. Course was well paced and timed. Leaders were very generous in their coaching.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Keith Simpson

I found the course very helpful in unpicking patterns and starting the journey to be more aware of how I tick and how I can change. Many thanks.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Dawn

I am deeply grateful to Ruchi for a masterful MBSR course delivered with great depth, lightness and appropriate humour. I feel more resilient and capable of dealing with life's ups and downs and have already used what I have learned to good effect. The Buddhist Centre is such a lovely environment and added to the quality and enjoyable experience of the course. Thank you to Samata for her cheerful presence and help on the course.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Angela Amos

This is such a good course. I have attended the MBSR course twice now and both times it has been hugely beneficial. Ruchiraketu and Sagaraghosa lead the group with ease, helping group participates to feel relaxed. The group quickly becomes a supportive place to openly explore and develop.

5 Stars

12/07/2016 - Maibritt Shah

Very informative and practical.

5 Stars

11/07/2016 - Bunny

I really enjoyed this course with Ruchiraketu. He has an amazing presence and way of teaching. I am handling stress much better and feel calmer.

5 Stars

08/07/2016 - Heidi Bradshaw

I greatly appreciated the chance to come on this course and feel that I have benefited a lot. It was well-organised, well-run and felt very warm and welcoming - this was my first experience of using the centre and I was very impressed. Thank you.

4 Stars

06/04/2016 - Anonymous

This is a fantastic course and extremely helpful to support a 'slowing down' and cultivating a more attentive relationship with the world. However - it is good to be aware that there are quite significant requirements of mindfulness practise outside the class: daily and up to one hour (sometimes spread through the day). Therefore, quite an immersive course and may not suit everyone.

5 Stars

05/04/2016 - Helen Heath

A group training is always the best for me as I need interaction with people to help me motivate.
Ruchi's style of leading the group was excellent as there was a couple of challenging people. He was able to bring the whole group back to the subject. I am working at being as mindful as possible and wishing to continue the practice during my lifetime. Thank you for helping me find a better way.

5 Stars

05/01/2016 - Walter Monticelli

I would like to spare few words regarding the MBSR course.

At first, I was a bit skeptical about this course mainly because of my academic background (got a degree in Psychology). However, at the beginning of the course I have decided to embrace the learning with acceptance and openness and I could not be more right than that. Ruchi and Simon have been both extraordinary in terms of making me feel at ease during the sessions and also they have been amazing at understanding every person's need within our group.

This journey has taught me to live accepting the present without judgement or worrying about the future events to come. Additionally, it taught me to develop techniques in order to embrace stress for what it is, rather than avoid it or challenge it.

This course has been both breathtaking and motivational to the level that I am going to carry on my journey with some more meditation teachings at the centre.

Thank you again for the love and kindness of the leaders and to the developed bond within the group.

Love, Walter

4 Stars

22/12/2015 - amit biswas

Wonderful course; made me grow ! Facilitators are soulful, graceful and all embracing; group was supportive and nurturing. Thank you all.

5 Stars

12/12/2015 - Nicola McLean

Ruchiraketu with the help of Simon delivered a truly transformational course with dignity, an excellent background and knowledge. They listened closely to all while ensuring they adhered to the principles at all times. An excellent course. Thank you

5 Stars

11/12/2015 - Cathy Aynsley

This is an excellent course which, if not an instant cure for all my problems, certainly helped me in the right direction. The leaders are wonderful - so understanding, non-judgmental and encouraging. I love the exercises - though it can be difficult to find the discipline and time to practice them every day at home. I will certainly try to continue both at home and at some of the day courses on offer. Also met a lovely group of people. I am a convert and highly recommend it.

5 Stars

09/12/2015 - John

Completing the MBSR course has given me the motivation to continue my personal journey into living mindfully.

5 Stars

08/12/2015 - Vickie Brown

Wow, what a course and what a journey! In doing this course I have noticed a significant decrease in my stress responses and have learnt numerous techniques in coping with stressful events. Also, I have gained much insight into my own psychological self and have found myself to be more resilient than I gave myself credit for. The course team are fantastic and very knowledgeable about the topic matter as well as encouraging, open and honest throughout. I have to also mention my group too. Every week I felt inspired, humble, supported and listened too. In fact I looked forward to attending the group.
Now the real hard work begins. Keeping all I have been taught up after the course ends. The team makes sure you do not leave the course empty handed. So fingers crossed, when I attend the MBSR day I have booked, I have maintained all my taught knowledge and am still practicing to the best I can.
A great course and I really enjoyed it.

5 Stars

20/04/2015 - Rob Laycock

I did the Wednesday evening NBSR course from January - March 2015. For me it was quite simply a revelation. I was coming to it after a particularly tough 18 months with cancer treatment, other surgery and a major stress / depressive episode behind me, and was at the point where I needed to try something completely different to anything I had ever done in life before to manage myself.

This course was just what I needed, Non judgement teaching, non invasive of what bought you to the course and a co-ordinated planned introduction to the processes, as well as allowing you to just spend time with yourself.

Both Ruchi and Sarah were very open and honest about the amount of home practice involved and to be honest I struggled with this at times, but that was my issue and definitely not their fault, and I was able to stick at it eventually and have managed to keep it going after finishing the course.

My only criticism would be how the groups were made up, we were all there for different reasons, some from a personal experience or need and some because it was part of a work initiative. These two didn't in my opinion mix particularly well and my only suggestion for the future would be just to check group make up on these issues before, but overall, a great experience that I thoroughly enjoyed and got ALOT out of.

5 Stars

13/04/2015 - Bronwen

An excellent course with wonderful teachers - would highly recommend it!

3 Stars

13/04/2015 - Helen Eva Brooks

I feel that the course was not really right for me. However the instructors Ruchiraketu and Sarah were brilliant.

4 Stars

13/04/2015 - alice bowe

I am glad I did the course and it has helped me to develop a regular and familiar practice that I now use everyday. I was previously an intermittent user. The course gave me the same information and used the same examples as 'Mindfulness in a Frantic World' which I was already familiar with but it was helpful to revise them and have the opportunity to discuss people's experiences. I would have preferred an earlier course time 5-7.30? as I found the very late finish a challenge.

5 Stars

06/04/2015 - Vicki

An excellent course! I was not new to meditation and had read a fair bit about Mindfulness. However I have gained so much from being part of a great group of people sharing and listening to their experiences. I thought both teachers excellent very knowledgeable and sensitive with a little bit of fun. Thank you!

5 Stars

06/04/2015 - Michael Goodhart

An excellent course, well lead and well paced and enjoyable. I would recommend it to people who genuinely want to manage their stress levels and who are prepared to commit themselves to the course and the home practice.

5 Stars

04/04/2015 - Alan Kent

An excellent course - quite challenging at times, but I look back on it with great satisfaction. Thank you.

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Ahimsaka

Was surprised how much there was to it, lots of different tools and nuances to the different practices. Have been noticing the impact of the practices since the start of the course and after.Both the trainers were very clear,helpful, warm and patient. Will probably do it again at some point in the future. Also nice to meet a lovely group of people on the course, I hope they all fare well with their future practice and life in general.

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Debs Rudd

New tools for my tool box - thesevweeks come round so quickly! I would have preferred a morning start and finish around 2 as for me it took the whole day with an hours travelling each way, as well as not being able to do much in the morning. The course was structured and well attended and I was fortunate enough to have a fabulous group of people. I was enlightened when I realised that others had similar issues to myself and it was lovely being able to share this with each other in the confines of a private group. The home practice was good, certainly makes you think and put in to practice better ways in which to manage our every day stresses, as well as added stresses that we all envoy Yer from time to time. I felt I had let myself down with how I was feeling inside, I very soon after starting this course came to realise I was keeping myself in this upturned state and that my stress was making me ill as since this course it's not only helped my way of thinking but also my health has a improved too! If you have trouble concentrating, mind full of worry or stress with trouble thinking straight .. Don't think about this course for too long .. book it now! Is love as an ex attendee to be involved in new groups if I were able as its given me a gift I really never knew I had!!! x

5 Stars

03/04/2015 - Janet

This was a really helpful course.

A very clear introductory session clarified expectations of how the course would be delivered and the commitment involved (there is a lot of homework). Ruchi and Sagaragosha were excellent course leaders and helped us navigate the process of starting mindfulness meditation. Fellow course members were warm and honest about their experiences although participation in sharing was purely voluntary.

For people wishing to find some more space or calm in their busy lives (whether stressed or not), I heartily recommend this course.

5 Stars

12/12/2014 - Catherine Green

Discovered some great tecniques for coping with stress. Would recommend this course

4 Stars

12/12/2014 - Sue

I found it difficult to settle in a larger group with new people. The quiet was refreshing and no speaking during the day was peaceful - in fact not having to make conversation left me with time to think of myself and what I needed. It was a strange yet interesting part of the day. The venue was pleasant and warm (in both senses of the word!) and it felt like being enfolded...The content of the meditations, poems, and talks were instructive and thought provoking, and I enjoyed the emotional releases and relaxation. However for me the group was too large and this was the only part I found hard to settle with.

5 Stars

09/12/2014 - Christine Rose

I really enjoyed the whole course.
I felt the leaders were knowledgable. It felt safe to express thoughts and feelings in the group and I liked being part of the group. I shall take some useful tools with me for future use.

4 Stars

09/12/2014 - Imogen

The mindfulness class was a fascinating way to approach stress and discomfort (physical, or emotional) and I found by the end I was able to put worries aside with greater ease than at the start.
The course isn't easy though and it takes true discipline to genuinely build a mindful practice, so if you can't do an hour of homework then don't do the course.
Physically I found the building somewhat difficult to manage as a manual wheelchair user, though the staff were always willing to help. There is an accessible toilet but visit the centre before starting your class as access is obviously different for everyone.
Over all I would recommend this course to all, especially those who are worriers, have high stress levels or perhaps physical or mental health issues.

5 Stars

09/12/2014 - Clare Moore

I'd highly recommend this course. Well structured and expertly taught.

5 Stars

02/07/2014 - Michelle

I thought the course was extremely insightful and well structured. Although it requires committment from the individual on the course, which isn't always easy, I found the benefits from committing to the practise were amazing. I'm still on a long journey but the course has been a life changer and a positive one at that. I would throuroughly recommend the course. Thanks Ruchi.

5 Stars

01/07/2014 - Shakya Kumara

Even thought I've been meditating for 24 years, and I'm a professional mindfulness trainer, I got tremendous benefit from this course. Ruchiraketu is a truly excellent teacher, and the course did a great job of surfacing stress-creating patterns and helping me work with them.

5 Stars

07/04/2014 - Sue

I found the course gave me insights into my instinctive thought processes and helped me to stand back from them and be more reflective. The course leaders and the contributions to discussion of other course members were most valuable. The leaders' insistence on regular home practice throughout the course was challenging but has helped me to establish an ability to practice mindfulness techniques on a regular basis. Thank you for an excellent course. I recommend it to those who want to unlearn unhelpful stressful responses to events and encounters in their daily lives.

5 Stars

06/04/2014 - Amber

A fantastically organised course. Thought provoking and dare I say "life-changing." Well structured, friendly, and has definitely set me on a path of reduced stress.

5 Stars

05/04/2014 - Adrian du Plessis

An excellent course in every respect: planning, content and delivery. I found it very valuable and would recommend it to anyone - it is actually about more than stress and touches on other important questions to.

5 Stars

04/04/2014 - David Carter

Absolutely life changing and splendid. Highly recommended.

5 Stars

04/01/2014 - Lindsey O'Donnell

A truly wonderful experience. I'm so glad I did this as I feel it's been life changing. I feel so much more solid and in the moment, and less buffeted by events and my emotional reactions to them. I feel more at peace. Thank you to Ruchi and all the lovely, supportive people who were on the same course. I'm looking forward to part 2!

5 Stars

18/12/2013 - Lesley McAllister

A remarkable course, liberating. It was challenging at times, but the rewards are so joyously life changing. The tutors are so skilled at leading you through and trustworthy. Everyone can benefit from this course

5 Stars

12/12/2013 - Innominatus

I was recommended to the course by a medical professional as a preliminary to other treatment. It exceeded all expectations, has helped me, and has given me a long-term tool for better health that will always be there. Definitely five stars!

5 Stars

12/12/2013 - philip milbank

Very good course. I knew quite a bit about mindfulness through reading but the course really made everything come together. Simply great...

5 Stars

11/12/2013 - Vicky Hayward

Really enjoyed the course. Found it really worthwhile meeting others and hearing their experiences and the knowledge of the teachers excellent. Learning about your own mind and using the techniques is the best thing you can do to live a more fulfilling life!

5 Stars

10/12/2013 - Eileen Lamont Abrams

I have really enjoyed the MBSR course. I feel that I have gained a huge insight into my life and how I approach problems. It has not been an easy journey but I feel that if i work with it I will make progress in living my life.

5 Stars

13/07/2013 - Hilary Painter

It was brilliant. I really enjoyed it. Sometimes I thought there was too much talking but by the end I realised that it was all part of arriving at a real understanding of what we were doing. I've dabbled with meditation several times over the last forty years, but never 'got it' - now I do. It has brought me into the present moment in a way I've been struggling to reach all my life (guess I was ready for it too).

5 Stars

06/05/2013 - maggie craig

Superb! Profoundly relevant to my life; joyfully, and playfully offered, with a lightness of spirit. A real gift. Thank you.

5 Stars

04/05/2013 - Jessica Wardill

I would highly recommend this course. The facilitators were excellent and brought great skill and kindness to their work. The course provided a supportive environment in which to experience and develop a mindfulness practice. Although I had previously read a fair amount about mindfulness, I found the course gave me the structure and support I needed to actually do it. I would strongly recommend undertaking the course with an open mind and a commitment to doing the practice homework, even if you can't see the benefits at the time. It is my experience that you gain much more from the course if you do this!

5 Stars

18/04/2013 - Linda Leon

This was an extremely valuable class - even though the effects are initially subtle. Over time, behaviour is changed because one's personal inner dialogue has changed - and that makes an incredible difference.

5 Stars

06/04/2013 - Carrie

This is a fantastic, practical course that has made a real difference to how I react to the world. The group setting is nurturing and Ruchi is an exemplary guide - giving very fine advice, and never allowing participants to take themselves too seriously or let themselves off the hook too easily!
I wish it could have continued longer, but have felt its useful effects already, and expect to gain more from it in the coming months, even though the meetings have finished.
The Buddhist Centre has been an excellent base for this work, and I have started going to other classes there.
Thank you!

5 Stars

06/04/2013 - Hazel E

Absolutely recommended. .I had scoured the web for the right teacher and venue and decided that I wanted a secular MBSR course driven and taught by an active Buddhist perspective and that's what I got. It's been a fab experience with a really good teacher who puts the competition to shame. I've learnt so much. Very clear incisive instruction in a group I loved spending time with. Its effects and benefits-including clear,clean thinking and ongoing stress management methods are defining not just how I cope but also how I coach. I'll value the experience forever. Loved it, and I'll miss everyone xxx

5 Stars

06/04/2013 - Aura Lopes Raphael

I'd recommend it - not only for those who are facing stressful problems but for anyone who wants to live their live fully.

4 Stars

05/04/2013 - Anon

I gained a lot from the course. It was well structured and the content was easy to follow. Ruchi is an excellent facilitator/tutor. I liked having "homework" to keep me focused.
Sometimes the feedback at a session went on too long although most people seemed to be self-aware.
There is too much paper in the hand-outs and please could this be double-sided to use resources better.
Thank you.

5 Stars

08/01/2013 - Sharon Burrows

MBSR has helped me to cope with major life stresses. The last six month has thrown bereavement, house move, husband’s redundancy, car accident and a diagnosis of diabetes my way. Through it all I have remained calm and my ability to cope has astonished me. Instead of catastrophising I am able to say “it’s just a thought” which helps to keep me anchored in the “here and now”. If you are looking for help with stress, anxiety or panic attacks this course works and is truly life changing.

5 Stars

20/12/2012 - Derek Cull

The course has already had a positive effect on my ME. I am now able to properly relax/rest when I need to which helps me to cope with my condition. It has also enabled me to manage any anxiety which arises from time to time. A great course with excellent course leaders.

5 Stars

09/12/2012 - Nicole

I immensely enjoyed this course. It's given me a lot to think about. For me it's something I have to take away, and make my own. I wish I could say I'd kept up practice, but it's slipped. However, I really feel I have been given through the course a base to go back to. And that, along with other things I've learned, feels really good.

4 Stars

08/12/2012 - LSG

I appreciated the opportunity to practise the skills acquired on the course and spend a day away from the demands and bother, in a calm, friendly, quiet and secure setting. A little gem of a day.

5 Stars

05/12/2012 - Sharon Ludlow

They should teach this in schools, I think everyone. Should do.this course.

5 Stars

05/12/2012 - Sharon Ludlow

They should teach this in schools, I think everyone. Should do.this course.

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - David Hunt

A challenging course which had significant beneficial effects. The most useful time I have ever spent.

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - Wendy

The course was a great experience. I would highly recommend it!

5 Stars

04/12/2012 - Katherine

I recently completed an MBSR course which was excellent - our tutor Ruchi led us very skillfully through 8 weeks of meditation,discussion,poetry and insights into the process and the practice of meditation. I enjoyed all the sessions and have felt the benefits of the course in many different ways. I feel like I have the tools to make a real difference to my life. I would not hesitate to recommend the course to anyone looking for strategies to help with the stresses of modern day living - thank you

5 Stars

01/08/2012 - Mark Lewinski

An excellentantidote to everyday stress as well as for those with more specific need to address stress-inducing situations in their lives. It's more time and effort than so-called antidepressants but the personal outcomes are far better if you stick at it and continue to practise after the course and as a life habit. Its simplicity highlights the absurdity of modern daily living as well as countering the stress of that.

5 Stars

16/07/2012 - Kathrin Hicks

I think this is an excellent course. For me, it was a way of re-starting a regular meditation practice. Ruchiraketu's teaching was warm, empathic, inspiring and thorough. I have only two very minor criticisms: The course incorporated both elements of MBSR and Mindfulness Based Cognitive Therapy (MBCT) and I'm not a huge fan of the latter. Secondly, quite a lot of time was spent discussing our experiences in pairs and in the group. While that was useful up to a point, I could have done with a little less of it and more actual meditation! Overall, it was a fantastic experience, though.

5 Stars

15/07/2012 - Kate

Stimulating, thought provoking, supportive and enriching - I'm looking forward to building on the experience. The group dynamic really added to the whole experience, and our teacher was unfailingly insightful and good humoured.

5 Stars

14/07/2012 - Tracy Shearer

I found this course really helpful. It met all my expectations and personal needs. I would certainly recommend everyone who wants to learn more about themselves and to lead a more balanced life to attend. I dont think there is anyone who would not benefit in some way.

5 Stars

10/07/2012 - anonymous

An enjoyable well structured course. An excellent introduction to MBSR. A good taster for anyone who would like to take the first steps in meditation.

5 Stars

10/07/2012 - Laura Kohler

I found this well structured course enabled me to gain the skills in how to 'be' - bringing my awareness into the present. Some very very valuable tools have been taught which I will continue to practise in my daily life. If you are willing to develop and improve the quality of life, this course is a must for everyone. Ruchiraketu has years of experience, insight, compassion and wisdom to teach you these skills and I felt in very safe hands throughout the weeks. A very wonderful course. Thank you so much.

5 Stars

10/07/2012 - anonymous

The course was just what I needed. I have already noticed improvements in stress levels and in the way I approach potentially stressful situations. I hope I can keep up the practice. I am also considering further courses at the centre.

5 Stars

25/04/2012 - Art Blokland

Enlightening, infomrative, and supportive. A very good course!

5 Stars

11/04/2012 - Sarah Turner

I thought the course was excellent - the content and delivery was well structured and the course leaders were professional, yet informal and welcoming. I found there were times that I found the home practice challenging but it was really useful to be able to share this during the group sessions or indeed how others had had similar experiences. Such a wonderful range of exercises and meditations to really explore the experience of mindfulness. I found myself being more present in my everyday life as the course progressed, sometimes without really trying. I've even thought about doing the course all over again! :-)

5 Stars

10/04/2012 - Georgina

This was a really helpful and enjoyable course. It offered practical help and information as well as minfulness and meditation techniques. The course leaders were kind, wise and humourous, and it was good to meet others on the course and share the experience with them.

5 Stars

04/04/2012 - Andrew

I really enjoyed the course. It was an interesting mix of teaching about, and doing meditation, alongside some CBT-based material. The instruction was practical and stressed the importance of establishing a regular routine of individual meditation practice for oneself which I found valuable. Finally, I also enjoyed the experience of being part of a friendly, interesting and open-minded group.

5 Stars

28/03/2012 - Nicola

A life changing course for everybody

5 Stars

27/03/2012 - anonymous

It exceeded my expectations. I had expected to be guided through mediation but I had not anticipated how profoundly it might change my thinking. I experienced the course as very professional so felt at ease with the process.

5 Stars

26/03/2012 - sheelagh christian

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and was sad to see it end! R and S were excellent leaders, very empathetic, informative and encouraging every step of the way.

3 Stars

26/03/2012 - cecily morrison-

I found the instructors on the course to be extremely thought provoking and I have since started attending meditation drop-in at the centre. However, I did not like the format of he course that was so geared to talking in a very large group rather than meditating.

5 Stars

07/12/2011 - Jean

A very well structured course which gradually unfolded during the eight weeks in the most interesting way. I enjoyed every minute of it and thoroughly recommend it.

5 Stars

06/12/2011 - Claire Farren

I loved this course, for me it has been life changing. You do have to be prepared to put the work in, about an hour a day. But by doing this it has certainly worked for me, and would recommend it 100%. And some good friendships have also come out of it too. Wonderful

5 Stars

04/12/2011 - Anne Davies

This was a good opportunity to practice skills with other people. I think having a practice day as part of a course is an excellent formula and as with the weekly course sessions, the relaxed and informed teaching style is an excellent example to us.

5 Stars

01/12/2011 - Antje

This was an excellent course. It involved considerable daily practice, which I usually enjoyed, but at times also found challenging -- especially during weeks 5 & 6. The Saturday dedicated to practice was a great step forward. The course and steady practice proved to be quite effective in helping me reconnect with a more mindful and kind self. Ruchiraketu and Vajradevi were wonderful teachers, but I also learned a lot from the other participants. I enjoyed the course for its calm seriousness as much as for its relaxed and sometimes quite funny atmosphere. I am confident that I will continue to practice and look forward to the discoveries this may entail.

5 Stars

30/11/2011 - Jan

The course was well run, organised & felt very 'safe' as a member of the group.The development of the practice was well paced, focused & set out to be a challenge but achievable at an individual level. The considerable self insight gained has been extremely helpful to continue to use mindfullness as a good choice for a happier way of life.I would Highly recommend the course.

5 Stars

30/11/2011 - Fiona

Very useful and great teaching. I will try and keep it up!

5 Stars

29/11/2011 - Andy

The course was excellent. It was very well structured, kept one motivated by encouragement and emphasis on importance of home practice.
My only disappointment is that I didn't take this course 30 years ago - still, better late than never. Ruchiraketu is still guiding me every day via the excellent cds that come with the course material.

5 Stars

29/11/2011 - Anonymous

I found this course stimulating, thought provoking and life chaning. My relationship with myself and with others have improved and I feel in control of my emotions, particularly those negative ones! I would recommned this course for anyone who is interested in creating space for themselves in a busy world.

5 Stars

29/11/2011 - Richard Holborn

Fantastic if you make the commtiment to the practice I think you reap the benefits. I have a good understanding of MBCBT but found this new and refreshing and very persoanlly enhancing.

5 Stars

29/11/2011 - Fiona

An excellent, well paced and supportive course. I found this an excellent 9 weeks & would highly recommend it to anyone interested in mindfulness meditation for stress reduction. It is difficult to explain it, as it needs to be experienced.

5 Stars

21/04/2011 - Lorina Naci

This course was very important for my personal development. It opened up a new perspective on managing stress and difficulties, and more generally, it provided a whole new way of thinking about thoughts and feelings.

For example, I learned that I could observe my thoughts and even feelings, and not identify with them as intensely as I had done before. This is a radical and powerful conceptual shift, and one of the most challenging aspects of the course. However, I have seen glimpses of a newly gained ability to be somewhat detached from my thoughts in times when they are not helpful. Also, the different meditation practices taught on the course have come in handy in real-life situations, when coping with stressful moments. I would highly recommend this course.

5 Stars

30/03/2011 - Nuala

I can recommend this course very highly. Mindfulness is a very effective way to tackle problems of anxiety and handling stress. This course is very well run, and structured. The group sessions are friendly, sometimes funny, sometimes poignant. They are not intrusive - there is no digging around in your innermost thoughts in public. The emphasis is on acquiring a skill, mastering an art, not self-revelation. This certainly reassured the more British amongst us!

Hard work at home is required - you have to be committed to this, and you have to practice (the course is not a magic wand). But the results make it worthwhile, and there is plenty of encouragement and support at the weekly sessions.

5 Stars

10/01/2011 - Pauline

I can absolutely 100 per cent recommend this course. I found the ideas we were introduced to enormously liberating. I hoped to gain greater concentration in my mind and a calmer attitude to life, and the course certainly gave me strategies towards achieving these ends, and a greater understanding of how the mind works. I was very impressed with the way the course was run.

5 Stars

21/12/2010 - Jeremy

A fascinating and very refreshing look at how our minds work- after only a few sessions I found that I could apply the lessons learnt in everyday situations, though of course reducing stress remains a continuing, and absorbing, 'work in progress'. Great teaching and back-up material, though be warned- the CDs wear out!

5 Stars

21/12/2010 - Judith Findlay

An excellent course. I really miss it now. Both the tutors had just the right amount of friendliness while still making us work hard. I particularly enjoyed the full day which was most stimulating and which passed in a flash. I came to the course because of its timetable after getting up at 6.30 a.m. and then travelling to Bedford and teaching for 4 hours so it is a compliment to the course that ,however tired I felt, I never once considered misisng a session and I walked home very calm

5 Stars

04/08/2010 - Judy

I thought this was a beautifully conceived, sensitively graded course, and beautifully taught, and the contributions from the group were generous and interesting. I would recommend it to almost anyone, and am very pleased to have given mindfulness a start in my life, though I know it's only a beginning.

5 Stars

30/07/2010 - Shevanthi De-Silva

I enjoyed the course very much. I especially enjoyed practising with the group. I have come away with some very useful strategies for coping with stress.

5 Stars

20/07/2010 - Ann Blythe

From the outset I was struck by the quality of compassionate acceptance which characterized the approach of the leader and the content of the course material. This quality very rapidly came to be reflected in the support of the group towards each other.

In this environment it was surprisingly easy to observe my own habitual thought processes and recognize how many are unhelpful - without adding yet more unhelpful self-criticism to the mixture!

I am grateful for the insights which the course has given me. Attending it seems to have slowed down my life just enough for a little much-needed space to open between my thoughts, feelings and actions. I would highly recommend it.

4 Stars

19/07/2010 - Anonymous

It wasn't until the all day silent meditation session that the course really clicked for me. Till then I struggled to find a way into the procedures and aims. After that it seemd somehow more substantive and achievable.I enjoyed it. I may enrol again. I'm still learning and processing it.

5 Stars

05/07/2010 - barney dunn

I really enjoyed the course and found it very useful. It was helpful to be part of a group of people all going through similar experiences, as this created a supportive environment. You have to be prepared to commit to the course, as an hour of day of meditation can be hard to fit into a busy routine

5 Stars

05/07/2010 - charlotte lumley

This course has enabled me to gain awareness of my thoughts and feelings and view things from a more objective place rather than becoming embroilled in them. I would highly recommend it and I would also like to thank the course leader for creating such a relaxed and friendly environment to enable group discussion. A big thank you

5 Stars

11/04/2010 - Peter Britton

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. The approach to each session was sensible and practical. The atmosphere was calm and friendly which encouraged open discussion amongst the participants. Time needed to be set aside most days to allow for home practice, but like most things, the more you put in the more you got out.
When I started on this course I had no idea what to expect. It is certainly an ideal introduction to meditation but more than that it gives you some insight into your frequently ingrained, thought processes which is an invaluable first step if you want to change your way of thinking. Thank you.

5 Stars

01/12/2009 - Kate Clark

I enjoyed this structured course and found it very interesting. It was more fun and encouraging than l was expecting. l was nearly put off by the formalities in the first week, so l am pleased l stayed with it.
The course notes were good including some beautiful poems.
Useful cds for practice and very good teaching in the classes.

5 Stars

30/11/2009 - Pat

I learnt the amazing power of gentleness, kindliness and acceptance and to just be in the moment, in the here and now. It helped me both step off the business of the world for a little while plus to feel at one with life. The group was a very special experience for me.

5 Stars

03/07/2009 - Alison

I found this course really helpful. I feel much more confident before and during stressful situations as well as feeling generally more relaxed and positive. The home practice is certainly a big commitment, but it is totally worth it. I really liked the atmosphere in the sessions and found the discussions very helpful.

4 Stars

30/06/2009 - Jain Hopkins

I enjoyed the course and the way it was held especially by Ruchi. I felt seen and heard. I found the commitment to the at home practice a challenge at times and encourage it to be undertaken when there is some space in your life. I believe it would benefit from a review course every 3 months or so to support ongoing practice - for me this doesnt need to be with the specific people i trained with it could be more for anyone. I also had fun with it which was lovely.

5 Stars

17/02/2009 - Dave

I was bit nervous about learning as part of a group and a bit unsure about the course taking place at a buddhist centre. Even the vegetarian lunch played on my mind for a while! BUT I am very pleased with myself that I still went ahead and booked the course.

After 12 months off through mental ilness I feel the practices have really helped me with my return to work but most importantly (to me) the practices have significantly helped to improve the relationship I have with my family.

5 Stars

05/01/2009 - Mary Younger

An excellent course, insightful, encouraging and supportive throughout.

4 Stars

11/12/2008 - Rachel Pettitt

Well structured and good introduction session with advance notice of the amount of home practice expected. I found the course interesting and useful.

5 Stars

09/12/2008 - Mark Ellis

Absolutely fascinating course and very thoroughly taught!!
A lifetime tool kit!!
Also a way to get the most out of life!!

4 Stars

16/08/2008 - richard porch

An interesting experience and one that I would recommend to anyone wanting to reduce their stress levels and/or explore a different way of thinking and being. To get the most out of the course, however, does require time commitment and at the begining some belief in a different approach. It does take some time for the seeds planted to grow.
I continue to use what I learnt and made part of my life on the course on a daily basis.
{ According to my wife I am calmer, less stressed and a better person to live with} an accolade indeed!

5 Stars

24/03/2008 - Joan Stevenson-Hinde

Highly recommended....for everyone!

5 Stars

04/02/2008 - Dr Vicki Richer

I would highly recommend this course. The techniques learnt are very effective and useful in everyday life. I have recently given birth to a baby girl and used the practice throughout labour. The skills I learnt helped me to 'ride' through the contractions, i found i could even control them a bit, and although it was intense I did not experience the pain as 'painful', rather as something interesting to explore. As a consequence I didn't need to ask for pain relief. It was a fantastic experience and my daughter was born very calm and alert.

4 Stars

03/12/2007 - Sarah

This course teaches you a range of exercises, some of which I will continue to use. It does require a significant time commitment (make sure you have at least 45 mins a day to spare for practice). Also allow extra time for the classes, which often over ran by up to 15 mins.

5 Stars

29/11/2007 - Natalie Barden

I found the course extremely helpful for getting anxieties and worries better into perspective and it also taught me the value of true self acceptance.
Ruchiraketu lead the group with his usual wisdom and light sense of humour which encouraged the nurturing atmosphere that I felt when I was there. I would highly recommend this course!

5 Stars

29/11/2007 - Jean Parker

I found this course very helpful and productive. Although it has not yet helped me to reduce stress very much,it has made me very aware of stress which I had not realised I had before. So this is a step in the right direction.
I found most of the techniques interesting, but quite hard to do with full concentration and it was helpful to realise it was OK to lose track. I still use the CD's to meditate every day and have alternated them with other meditation techniques as I personally found that I needed to do loving kindness meditations to balance the concentration on myself.
The course was run extremely well and I think we were all sorry when it ended and the group had to break u[p.

5 Stars

27/11/2007 - Graham Harding

I signed up for this MBSR course with very much an open mind and a willingness to explore. The mindfulness experiences, discussions and meditations were enlightening and 100% enjoyable. Ruchiraketu is an inspiring teacher. In continuing the practices beyond the course I'm finding that my life is changing profoundly and for the better.

5 Stars

26/11/2007 - abigail james

I found this course really interesting. It opened a whole different way of thinking for me and I have gained so much from it. Friends are saying how I seem much less irritable and that I'm not as snappy - which I can only put down to a reduction of stress and a mindfulness of being! Thank you and I will definitely be using the monthly drop in evenings as a top up.

4 Stars

13/07/2007 - Karen Griffin

I found the course helped me to have a better understanding of my thoughts and how these affect my mood.

4 Stars

26/06/2007 - Anonymous

An excellent course which was well structured and very conducive to dealing with anxiety.

5 Stars

09/04/2007 - Val Lanagan

This was an excellent course - very well structured and led. The themes introduced each week built on those covered in previous weeks and consolidated by home practise so that mindfulness became a habit quite easily. I was already familiar with mindfulness practises but I tried to do the course as if I was a beginner and I have benefitted from that approach in that I am dealing with chronic pain more effectively ( I think because on the focus of some of the exercises on awareness of physical sensations).